Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By tiallarising
  • 1 Post By HSingMom

Thread: Newbie here ~*~*~* questions about how to begin, esp. curriculum

Newbie here ~*~*~* questions about how to begin, esp. curriculum

Hi. total newbie here! My son is a rising 9th grader, and we've never homeschooled. I could use some advice about curricula and virtual schools. I work p/t and due to my own ADD and other issues, I don't want to spend the next few years re-inventing the wheel. Son and I are both a little nervous about this.

We want something secular, with a little structure, but not hyper structure. But unschooling is too relaxed for us. I don't want to make up and teach the lessons -- I prefer either an online school with good science and good math and a relaxed pace, or a curriculum that doesn't have woo, b/c we are secular, science-engineering types.

Inquiry and project-based learning would be awesome, too. We hate excessive worksheets. We can get that in traditional school.

I was considering Oak Meadow for the pace / schedule, but several parents told me that their science-loving kids didn't like it. And I'm a little worried about Waldorf woo.

So, hit me with some great ideas!

Have you considered Time4Learning.com? It is an online homeschooling program, and you can totally go at your own pace. Also, all the lessons are already created and you can view everything from your parent's login. It also keeps track of grades for you.

Hi there- from what you said you "want" for a homeschool curriculum... what Tia mentioned sounds like a good fit. We use T4L high school and it pretty much fits all of your "wish list" items.

The great thing about 9th grade is that T4L gives you free access to 8th grade as well. So, if you find that he needs a little brushing up - it's there and ready for you!
    Mrs. J - homeschooling six in our crazy eclectic way! Using Spelling City, Time4Learning, and a lot more...and blogging about it at MomSCHOOL!

Established Member