One of the biggest concerns parents have about homeschooling a high schooler is the legalities – a.k.a. homeschooling state laws. The questions are many, including: What does my state require from me to home school legally? We get it. It can be scary getting it all straight, and we understand no one wants to break homeschooling laws. The FAQ we’ve included along with the quick reference table below are a great place to start. Just remember, we aren’t lawyers at Let’sHomeschoolHighSchool.com; it’s up to you to read your homeschool state laws and make sure you understand and follow them completely.
F.A.Q. about state homeschooling laws.
Homeschooling is legal in all 50 states.
Each state has different state homeschooling laws.
You must follow your state’s homeschooling regulations or face prosecution.
If you are a roadschooler, you need to follow the state homeschooling laws from the state in which you have your driver’s license/vehicle registrations. Take proof that you have followed those laws along with you when travelling to other states.
Grandparents, parents, or family members that have been appointed by the legal guardian may homeschool the child once the legalities of homeschooling in that state have been set up.
Keep a transcript or detailed record of your student’s accomplishments when they begin high school. Keeping up with this is vital for your teen’s future. Follow the suggested course guidelines for your state, and meet or exceed their requirements.
*Click on the state initials in the first column to be taken to the state page listing the laws we summarized.
** Please note that this information was taken from each state’s DOE website page. We have found that some states have “laws” at the state level that are not enforced or are enforced differently at the local level.
Instruction must be provided in English and include the same coursework taught in public schools in the areas of language arts; math; biological, physical and social science; fine arts and physical development; and health.
Homeschool considered a “non-public” school – no real statutes regarding homeschooling.
None, but students can participate in the local school districts testing.
Instruction must include mathematics, reading, English, science, and social studies in all grades; and the Constitution of the United States, the Constitution of Michigan, and the history and present form of civil government of the United States, the State of Michigan
Reporting is not required, unless parent is requesting special needs assistance.
Must offer 1,000 hours of instruction during the school year, with at least 600 hours in the basics, which will be in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. At least 400 of the 600 hours shall occur in the home location.
Parents must maintain academic records, and school year begins July 1 and ends June 30.
DOE website states: Instruction in science, mathematics, language, government, history, health, reading, writing, spelling, the history of the constitutions of New Hampshire and the United States, and an exposure to and appreciation of art and music.
communication skills including reading, writing and the use of numbers; citizenship, history, and government of Vermont and the United States; physical education and health education; English, American and other literature; the natural sciences; and fine arts.
Annual written enrollment sent to the Commissioner.
Instruction in the basic skills of occupational education, science, mathematics, language, social studies, history, health, reading, writing and spelling and the development of an appreciation of art and music.
Parent must meet qualifications, must submit declaration of intent.